How to Become a Daycare Director in Texas
Texas Child Care Administrator's Credentialing Program Also known as the (Texas Daycare Director's Course)
There are huge benefits and rewards to becoming a director of a daycare. Each state will require the director to meet specific qualifications to ensure the director is qualified to be the administrator over the child care program. The program is designed to prepare students to become child care center director's for early childhood education program management and administration. In the State of Texas, the director must meet the experience and education requirements. Here are a few of the requirements for the State of Texas director's credentialing course:
- Must be at least 21 years of age or older.
- Hold a high school diploma or the equivalent.
- Able to read, write & understand the language, in which the lessons are taught.
- 2 years of experience working with young children (ages 6 & below) within the past 5 years in a state-licensed home or center setting.
- Meet at least one of the combinations of education & experience required by Texas DFPS Childcare Licensing to become a Childcare Director in Texas.
- Submit an application.
- Valid proof of official pictured identification. (Driver's license, Military ID, etc...)
- Valid proof of College Hours, Clock Hours &/or CEU's.
Once you have completed the Director's course, you will need to submit your Personal History Statement, along with your certificate and any additional supporting documents to child care licensing. Child Care Licensing will review your qualifications and assign your Texas Director's Certificate.
If you have already completed a Texas Directors Credentialing Course, you will need to renew your certification. A copy of training certificates confirming 30 clock hours of training must be submitted in following topics in order to renew your credential. Each renewal program is 30 training hours for completion.
If you are interested in becoming a director in the State of Texas, click HERE: